Mackey and Rimington Award Watch Lists

July 11, 2017

A collection of 15 Big Ten Conference students have been named to this year's preseason watch lists for the John Mackey Award (given annually to college football's top tight end) and the Rimington Trophy (presented each season to the nation's best center), according to announcements made Tuesday by the awards' respective presenting groups, the Friends of John Mackey and the Boomer Esiason Foundation.

Seven Big Ten students were chosen for this year's Mackey Award preseason watch list. The Big Ten nominees are Michigan's Tyrone Wheatley, Minnesota's Brandon Lingen and Nate Wozniak, Ohio State's Marcus Baugh, Penn State's Mike Gesicki, and Wisconsin's Troy Fumagalli and Kyle Penniston. Four students from current Big Ten schools have earned the Mackey Award since its inception in 2000, including last year's recipient, Michigan's Jake Butt. (FULL LIST)

Eight conference students appeared on the watch list for the Rimington Trophy, including Illinois' Nick Allegretti, Iowa's James Daniels, Maryland's Brendan Moore, Michigan State's Brian Allen, Minnesota's Jared Weyler, Northwestern's Brad North, Ohio State's Billy Price and Wisconsin's Michael Deiter. Seven students from current Big Ten schools have received the Rimington Trophy since its 2000 debut, most recently when Ohio State's Pat Elflein was honored last season. (FULL LIST)