Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

July 14, 2017

Five Big Ten Conference students appear on the 2017 Jim Thorpe Award watch list, it was announced Friday by the Oklahoma Sports Hall of Fame. The Thorpe Award is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive back.

The five Big Ten students on this year’s Thorpe Award watch list are Indiana’s Rashard Fant, Nebraska’s Chris Jones, Northwestern’s Godwin Igwebuike, Ohio State’s Denzel Ward and Penn State’s Marcus Allen. A student from a current Big Ten school has earned the Jim Thorpe Award seven times since its inception in 1986, with Iowa’s Desmond King the most recent Big Ten recipient in 2015. (FULL LIST)