Five Big Ten Signal Callers Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List

Ohio State's Braxton Miller was named a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award last season.

July 16, 2014

Five Big Ten standouts were named to the watch list today for the Davey O’Brien Award, which goes to the nation’s most outstanding quarterback. The Big Ten’s preseason honorees for the award are Michigan’s Devin Gardner, Michigan State’s Connor Cook, Ohio State’s Braxton Miller, Penn State’s Christian Hackenberg and Wisconsin’s Joel Stave. Miller was named a semifinalist for the award last season. Six quarterbacks from current Big Ten schools have claimed the Davey O’Brien Award – Penn State’s Todd Blackledge in 1982 and Kerry Collins in 1994, Iowa’s Chuck Long in 1985 and Brad Banks in 2002, Nebraska’s Eric Crouch in 2001 and Ohio State’s Troy Smith in 2006.