Eight Big Ten Standouts Named to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Nebraska's Ameer Abdullah was named a semifinalist for the Doak Walker Award last season.

July 17, 2014

Eight Big Ten standouts were named to the watch list today for the Doak Walker Award, which goes to the nation’s most outstanding running back. The Big Ten’s preseason honorees for the award are Illinois’ Josh Ferguson, Indiana’s Tevin Coleman, Michigan State’s Jeremy Langford, Minnesota’s David Cobb, Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah, Penn State’s Bill Belton and Zach Zwinak and Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon. Abdullah and Gordon were each named semifinalists for the award last season.

Six running backs from Big Ten schools have claimed the Doak Walker Award – Ohio State’s Eddie George in 1995, Wisconsin’s Ron Dayne in 1999 and Montee Ball in 2012, Penn State’s Larry Johnson in 2002, Michigan’s Chris Perry in 2003 and Iowa’s Shonn Greene in 2008.