Biletnikoff Award, Wuerffel Trophy Watch Lists

July 18, 2017

Ten Big Ten Conference standouts are earning mention on this year’s preseason watch lists for the Biletnikoff Award (presented annually to the nation’s top receiver) and the Wuerffel Trophy (given each year to the college football student who best combines exemplary community service with academic and athletic achievement), following releases on Tuesday morning by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation and the All Sports Association in Fort Walton Beach, Florida.

Indiana’s Nick Westbrook represents the Big Ten on the 2017 Biletnikoff Award preseason watch list. Four students from current Big Ten schools received the Biletnikoff Award since its inception in 1994, with Michigan’s Braylon Edwards the most recent conference recipient in 2004. (FULL LIST)

Nine Big Ten students appear on this year’s Wuerffel Trophy preseason watch list. The group of conference standouts includes Indiana’s Rashard Fant, Iowa’s Josey Jewell, Maryland’s Adam Greene, Minnesota’s Ryan Santoso, Nebraska’s Drew Brown, Northwestern’s Justin Jackson, Ohio State’s Tracy Sprinkle, Penn State’s Trace McSorley and Purdue’s David Blough. In 2006, Ohio State’s Joel Penton became the first student from a current Big Ten school to earn the Wuerffel Trophy in the award’s 12-year history. (FULL LIST)

Tuesday’s announcement is the latest in a series of releases featuring Big Ten students appearing on preseason watch lists for all of the major college football awards. The following are links to those watch list announcements that have already been made:

May 22 – Lott IMPACT Trophy
July 10 – Bednarik and Maxwell Awards
July 10 – Allstate AFCA Good Works Team
July 11 – Mackey and Rimington Awards
July 12 – Groza and Guy Awards
July 13 – Outland and Nagurski Trophies
July 14 – Thorpe Award
July 17 – Butkus and Hornung Awards