Big Ten Announces Agreements with Capital One, Outback, Alamo, Champs Sports and Insight Bowls

July 19, 2005

The Big Ten Conference continued to build its postseason lineup for the 2006-09 college football seasons as the league announced four-year extensions with the Capital One, Outback and Alamo Bowls and new four-year agreements with the Champs Sports and Insight Bowls. Last August, the Big Ten announced an eight-year extension with the Rose Bowl through the 2013 season.
This new Big Ten bowl lineup will run concurrently with the latest Bowl Championship Series (BCS) contract, which will expand to five games during the 2006-09 seasons and provide two additional at-large berths each year. Each of the four BCS-affiliated bowl games will once again welcome their traditional partners on an annual basis, along with hosting a stand-alone BCS National Championship Game one week later in one of those four years.

"Great bowl game destinations await Big Ten student-athletes, coaches and fans, who can now look forward to rewarding bowl experiences in Orlando, Tampa, San Antonio and Tempe, along with the league's traditional trip to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl," said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany. "With a heavy concentration of Big Ten alumni in the states of Arizona, California, Florida and Texas, this bowl lineup is a natural fit for the conference and should provide some great matchups on the field. We look forward to continuing our relationship with the Rose, Capital One, Outback and Alamo Bowls and welcome the Champs Sports and Insight Bowls in 2006."

The Capital One Bowl first entered into agreement with the Big Ten for the 1992 campaign and the conference has sent a team to Orlando, Fla., in each of the last 13 seasons, which marks the league's second-longest current bowl agreement behind the Rose Bowl. The Big Ten has won four of the last seven Capital One Bowls, including a last-second 30-25 victory by Iowa over LSU on January 1, 2005.

The Outback Bowl's association with the Big Ten, which began in 1993, will also continue through the 2009 campaign. The conference has been victorious in two of the last three games played in Tampa, Fla., including wins by Iowa in 2004 and Michigan in 2003.

The Alamo Bowl has annually welcomed a Big Ten squad to San Antonio, Texas, since the 1995 season, as the conference will continue to take on an opponent from the Big 12 through 2009. The league has claimed three of the last four Alamo Bowls with triumphs by Ohio State (2004), Wisconsin (2002) and Iowa (2001).

Beginning with the 2006 season, the Big Ten will kick off a week-long celebration of college football in Orlando, as the league will take part in the Champs Sports Bowl during the final week of December and the Capital One Bowl in January. The Big Ten has never taken part in the Champs Sports Bowl, which was known as the Tangerine Bowl from 2001 to 2003 upon its move to Orlando. The event was previously held in Miami, Fla., from its inception in 1990 as the Blockbuster Bowl to its final year in Miami in 2000 as the Bowl, when North Carolina State edged Minnesota.

The Insight Bowl is the latest addition to the Big Ten bowl lineup and will feature a contest against a Big 12 foe. With the annual event moving to Tempe beginning in 2006, the conference will have it's first-ever bowl game tie-in with the state of Arizona. Previously known as the Copper Bowl from its inception in 1989 through 1996, Big Ten teams are 2-0 in this event with victories by Indiana in 1991 and Wisconsin in 1996.