Doak Walker Award Watch List

July 20, 2017

No fewer than 10 Big Ten Conference students have earned a place on the 2017 preseason watch list for the Doak Walker Award (given annually to the country’s top running back), as announced Thursday by the SMU Athletic Forum.

Illinois’ Kendrick Foster, Iowa’s Akrum Wadley, Maryland’s Ty Johnson, Michigan State’s LJ Scott, Minnesota’s Rodney Smith, Northwestern’s Justin Jackson, Ohio State’s Mike Weber, Penn State’s Saquon Barkley, and Wisconsin’s Chris James and Bradrick Shaw are the Big Ten standouts appearing on this year’s Doak Walker Award preseason watch list. Seven students from current Big Ten schools have received the Doak Walker Award since it was first presented in 1990, with Wisconsin’s Melvin Gordon being the award’s most recent Big Ten recipient in 2014. (FULL LIST)

Thursday’s announcement is the latest in a series of releases featuring Big Ten students and coaches appearing on preseason watch lists for all of the major college football awards. The following are links to those watch list announcements that have already been made:

May 22 -- Lott IMPACT Trophy
July 10 -- Bednarik and Maxwell Awards
July 10 -- Allstate AFCA Good Works Team
July 11 -- Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy
July 12 -- Groza and Guy Awards
July 13 -- Outland and Nagurski Trophies
July 14 -- Thorpe Award
July 17 -- Butkus and Hornung Awards
July 18 -- Biletnikoff Award and Wuerffel Trophy
July 19 -- O'Brien and Unitas Golden Arm Awards, Dodd Trophy