Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

July 21, 2017

Seven Big Ten Conference students appear on the 2017 preseason watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award (presented annually to the nation’s best college football player), according to Friday’s announcement by the Walter Camp Football Foundation.

Michigan’s Rashan Gary, Northwestern’s Justin Jackson, Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett, Tyquan Lewis and Billy Price, and Penn State’s Saquon Barkley and Trace McSorley are the conference standouts who earned mention on the Walter Camp Player of the Year preseason watch list. In the award’s 50-year history, students from current Big Ten schools have been named the Walter Camp Player of the Year 13 times, with the most recent conference honoree coming in 2006 when Ohio State’s Troy Smith received the trophy. (FULL LIST)

Friday’s announcement is the latest in a series of releases featuring Big Ten students and coaches appearing on preseason watch lists for all of the major college football awards. The following are links to those watch list announcements that have already been made:

May 22 -- Lott IMPACT Trophy
July 10 -- Bednarik and Maxwell Awards
July 10 -- Allstate AFCA Good Works Team
July 11 -- Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy
July 12 -- Groza and Guy Awards
July 13 -- Outland and Nagurski Trophies
July 14 -- Thorpe Award
July 17 -- Butkus and Hornung Awards
July 18 -- Biletnikoff Award and Wuerffel Trophy
July 19 -- O'Brien and Unitas Golden Arm Awards, Dodd Trophy
July 20 -- Walker Award