Big Ten Announces Former Players Attending the 43rd Annual Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon Presented by Allstate and BMW

July 23, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference announced today the 14 former players that will be in attendance at the 2014 Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon presented by Allstate and BMW. The former standouts will be available for autographs and a photo session prior to the 43rd annual event, which will be held on Tuesday, July 29, at the Hilton Chicago and will mark the first official appearance of Maryland and Rutgers as members of the Big Ten.

Beginning at 10 a.m. CT, fans in attendance will take part in an autograph session with all 14 head coaches and one former player from each school, while current players will take part in brief, live interviews highlighted by questions from fans on-site and through social media channels. Fans will have the opportunity to take photos of head coaches along with current and former players at around 10:50 a.m.

The group of former players, one from each Big Ten school, includes 11 all-conference selections, nine All-Americans, three College Football Hall of Famers, three Super Bowl winners and two national champions. The full list of former players scheduled to be in attendance at the Kickoff Luncheon can be found below:

Dana Howard, Illinois (1991-94)
Anthony Thompson, Indiana (1986-89)
Chuck Long, Iowa (1982-85)
Kevin Glover, Maryland (1982-84)
Jon Jansen, Michigan (1995-98)
Flozell Adams, Michigan State (1994-97)
Laurence Maroney, Minnesota (2003-05)
Kris Brown, Nebraska (1995-98)
Darnell Autry, Northwestern (1994-96)
Tito Paul, Ohio State (1991-94)
Anthony Adams, Penn State (1999-2002)
Dave Butz, Purdue (1970-72)
L.J. Smith, Rutgers (1999-2002)
Mark Tauscher, Wisconsin (1997-99)

The luncheon begins at 11:30 a.m., with ESPN’s Rece Davis serving as emcee and sitting down with the coaches in small groups to discuss the upcoming season. The event also will feature speeches by Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany, Tournament of Roses president Rich Chinen and Ameer Abdullah of Nebraska. The All-Big Ten running back and Academic All-Big Ten honoree will speak on behalf of the 42 players in attendance. The complete list of player attendees can be found at

A limited number of tickets remain available for $110 per seat or $1,100 per table (10 seats). Contact Josh Munk at the Big Ten office at 847-696-1010, ext. 105, or to purchase tickets.

For over four decades, the Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon has featured some of the biggest names in college football. Legendary players like Desmond Howard, Eddie George, Ron Dayne and Drew Brees, as well as storied coaches like Bo Schembechler, Woody Hayes, Duffy Daugherty and Hayden Fry, have all attended this historic event. In all, more than 850 of the conference’s finest players, over 60 head coaches and nearly 50,000 supporters have made the Big Ten Kickoff Luncheon a yearly stop in their preseason college football schedules.