10 Big Ten Football Student-Athletes Named to Walter Camp and Davey O'Brien Watch Lists

Aug. 23, 2005

Park Ridge, Ill. - A total of 10 Big Ten football standouts have been honored over the past few weeks after being named to the preseason watch lists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award and the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

The Big Ten led all conferences with nine honorees on the Walter Camp watch list, while also boasting three nominees for the Davey O'Brien Award. Two conference standouts appear on both preseason lists in Iowa quarterback Drew Tate and Michigan State quarterback Drew Stanton.

The Big Ten's nine student-athletes on the Walter Camp watch list are Iowa linebacker Chad Greenway and Tate, Michigan wide receiver Steve Breaston and running back Michael Hart, Michigan State's Stanton, Minnesota running back Laurence Maroney and the Ohio State trio of wide receiver Ted Ginn Jr., linebacker A.J. Hawk and wide receiver Santonio Holmes. The Buckeyes, along with Southern California, were the only programs in the nation to feature three players on the watch list. Big Ten student-athletes have earned this prestigious honor on 17 occasions, most recently by Penn State running back Larry Johnson in 2002.

Also earning preseason recognition as a member of the Davey O'Brien Award watch list were Iowa's Tate, Michigan's Chad Henne and Michigan State's Stanton. The Big Ten has collected the O'Brien Award three times, most recently when the Hawkeyes' Brad Banks picked up the 2002 honor.

Iowa's Tate and Ohio State's Hawk were tabbed as the 2005 Big Ten Preseason Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, in a vote by media members attending the conference's media day in early August. Greenway, Tate, Hart, Maroney and Hawk were first-team All-Big Ten selections last season and Holmes was a second-team choice, while Henne, Stanton and Ginn claimed honorable-mention All-Conference accolades.

Both watch lists will be narrowed to semi-finalists in early November and the winners will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 8, 2005.

The 110th season of Big Ten football kicks off from Sept. 1-3 with 10 of the 11 league teams taking the field for non-conference action.