Nine Big Ten Students Named Campbell Trophy Semifinalists
Sept. 27, 2017

Nine Big Ten Conference students are among the 181 semifinalists for the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy, it was announced Wednesday by the National Football Foundation (NFF) and College Football Hall of Fame. Now in its 28th year, the Campbell Trophy is presented annually to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

Representing the Big Ten as this year’s Campbell Trophy semifinalists are Illinois’ Malik Turner, Maryland’s Adam Greene, Michigan’s Mike Wroblewski, Michigan State’s Brian Allen, Minnesota’s Andrew Stelter, Nebraska’s Chris Weber, Northwestern’s Justin Jackson, Penn State’s Brandon Smith and Wisconsin’s Joe Ferguson.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, Campbell Trophy candidates must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of athletic eligibility, maintain a grade-point average of 3.2 or higher, have outstanding football ability as a first-team player or significant contributor, and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The selections are made annually by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally-recognized group of media members, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.

The NFF will announce 12-14 finalists on Nov. 1, with each finalist receiving an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class. The finalists will travel to New York City for the 60th annual NFF Awards Dinner on Dec. 5, with the Campbell Trophy recipient announced during the gala event and presented an additional $7,000 scholarship, bringing his final scholarship award total to $25,000.

Six students from current Big Ten schools have received the William V. Campbell Trophy since its inception in 1990: Nebraska’s Rob Zatechka (1994), Ohio State’s Bobby Hoying (1995), Nebraska’s Kyle Vanden Bosch (2000), Ohio State’s Craig Krenzel (2003), Rutgers’ Brian Leonard (2006) and Penn State’s John Urschel (2013).

The full release on this year’s William V. Campbell Trophy semifinalists is available by CLICKING HERE.