Big Ten Weekly Football Release

Big Ten Football Release PDF Get Acrobat Reader

  Two Big Ten teams remain undefeated on the season, as Penn State has won its first six games and Wisconsin is 5-0. The Nittany Lions are 6-0 for the first time since 2008, when the team started 9-0. The Badgers are 5-0 for the first time since winning their first six games in 2011.

  The Big Ten currently features three programs that rank among the top 20 nationally in both scoring offense and defense (Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin). Four more conference squads stand among the top 25 nationally in scoring defense (Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State and Minnesota).

  Penn State became the first Big Ten school to secure a bowl berth, while Ohio State and Wisconsin can do likewise with a victory this weekend. The Big Ten will continue to feature the largest bowl lineup in conference history, and the full list of Big Ten postseason destinations can be found on page three.

  Michigan State forced five Michigan turnovers (two fumbles, three interceptions), the most by a Spartan team since 2015. Safety David Dowell had a career game, collecting two interceptions, a fumble recovery and a career-high seven tackles.

  Wisconsin running back Jonathan Taylor rushed for a career-high 249 yards and two touchdowns in Wisconsin’s to a victory at Nebraska to become the second true freshman in program history to record multiple 200-yard rushing games and the first since Ron Dayne in 1996. Taylor’s 249 rushing yards were the most by a Badger in a road game since Melvin Gordon rushed for 259 yards at Northwestern in 2014.

  Maryland running back Ty Johnson registered his first career kick return touchdown with a 100-yard return in the first quarter at Ohio State. His touchdown marked the 37th 100-yard kickoff return touchdown in Big Ten history and the first since fellow Terp Will Likely did so against Iowa on Oct. 31, 2015.

  With its 27-0 win over Charleston Southern, Indiana posted its first shutout since defeating Michigan State 10-0 on Oct. 30, 1993. The Hoosiers allowed zero completions (0-for-10) for the seventh time in school history and the first time since 1985 season against Minnesota.

  Five Big Ten standouts who have demonstrated excellence both on and off the field were selected as candidates for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The list of candidates includes Indiana’s Rashard Fant, Iowa’s Josey Jewell, Nebraska’s Drew Brown and Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett and Billy Price.

This Week's Schedule

Oct. 14, 2017  Rutgers at Illinois Champaign, IL 12:00 pm    BTN
  Michigan at Indiana Bloomington, IN 12:00 pm    ABC
  Northwestern at Maryland College Park, MD 3:30 pm    ESPN2
  Purdue at Wisconsin Madison, WI 3:30 pm    BTN
  Ohio State at Nebraska Lincoln, NE 7:30 pm    FS1
  Michigan State at Minnesota Minneapolis, MN 8:00 pm    BTN