Big Ten Features Three Football Senior CLASS Award Finalists
Nov. 8, 2017

Three Big Ten Conference students are among 10 finalists for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award in college football, it was announced Wednesday.

Iowa’s Josey Jewell, and Ohio State’s J.T. Barrett and Billy Price are the Big Ten football standouts still in contention for this year’s award, which has been presented annually since 2008 to a student classified as a senior in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) who has made notable achievements in the award’s four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

This year’s Senior CLASS Award finalists were chosen by a selection committee from a preliminary list of 30 candidates announced last month. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the award’s recipient, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award web site ( through Dec. 4. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the recipient, who will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Since the Senior CLASS Award was first presented nearly a decade ago, five students from five different Big Ten schools have earned the honor — Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis (2008), Michigan State’s Kirk Cousins (2011), Penn State’s John Urschel (2013), Nebraska’s Ameer Abdullah (2014) and Michigan’s Jake Butt (2016).

The full Senior CLASS Award finalist release can be read by CLICKING HERE.