College Football Playoff Foundation, Big Ten Partner for $90,000 Pledge to Support Educational Initiatives in Indiana
Nov. 20, 2017

ROSEMONT, Ill.  - The Big Ten Conference and the College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation have announced a partnership to introduce the funding of educational initiatives in the state of Indiana. Through this activation, the CFP Foundation and Big Ten, in conjunction with Extra Yard for Teachers will be recognizing teachers at the 2017 Big Ten Football Championship Game on December 2 in Indianapolis, while providing funds to enhance educational efforts in those teachers' respective classrooms and schools.

"The College Football Playoff Foundation is excited to partner with the Big Ten Conference to support Indiana teachers once again," said CFP Foundation Executive Director Britton Banowsky. "We would like to congratulate each of the teachers who will be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game, and thank them for positive influence they have had on their students."

The Big Ten worked with Indiana Sports Corp to select 15 teachers, with the goal of recognizing 15 different schools in the state of Indiana. Each of the teachers (kindergarten through eighth grade) will be awarded a grant to assist them with educational projects. The 15 teachers will be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game at Lucas Oil Stadium.

"The Big Ten is thrilled to once again partner with the College Football Playoff Foundation and Indiana Sports Corp to recognize teachers who play an integral role in creating educational opportunities for the youth across the state of Indiana," Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany said. "We look forward to welcoming these individuals to Indianapolis on Sat., Dec. 2 to thank them for the commitment and service that they have provided to their classrooms and communities."

"For the second-consecutive year, Indiana Sports Corp is excited to partner with the College Football Playoff Foundation and the Big Ten Conference to impact the lives of youth in 15 different classrooms across Indiana," said Indiana Sports Corp President, Ryan Vaughn. "This initiative aligns perfectly with our mission of providing opportunities for youth, through an event we are proud to host, the Big Ten Football Championship Game."

The following 15 teachers will be recognized at the Big Ten Football Championship Game:

Teacher School  Location
Laura Commins    Lew Wallace Elementary     Indianapolis
Beth Desalvo         IPS Center for Inquiry Indianapolis 
Dana Dilger David Turnham Education Center      Dale
Patty Evans Clark Pleasant Middle School Greenwood
Sharon Gilham       Carlisle Elementary School Carlisle
Julie Grissom Eastwood Middle School      Indianapolis
Mimi Hawkins     Shoals Community School Shoals
Bethany Jackson Longfellow Middle School Indianapolis
Carol Kratzer Concord West Side Elementary School Elkhart
Amy Lapka Brookside Elementary School Indianapolis
Amanda Long Frankfort Middle School Frankfort
Madeline Mason Center for Inquiry 84 Indianapolis
Jill Simala Raymond Park Middle School Indianapolis
Heidi Stan Riverside Junior High School Fishers
Crissy Stephan Maple Glen Elementary School Westfield

The Big Ten and CFP Foundation plan to partner for upcoming activations in Chicago and New York City later in the academic year.

About the Big Ten Conference

The Big Ten Conference is an association of world-class universities whose member institutions share a common mission of research, graduate, professional and undergraduate teaching and public service. Founded in 1896, the Big Ten has sustained a comprehensive set of shared practices and policies that enforce the priority of academics in the lives of students competing in intercollegiate athletics and emphasize the values of integrity, fairness and competitiveness. The broad-based programs of the 14 Big Ten institutions will provide over $200 million in direct financial support to more than 9,500 students for more than 11,000 participation opportunities on 350 teams in 42 different sports. The Big Ten sponsors 28 official conference sports, 14 for men and 14 for women, including the addition of men's ice hockey and men's and women's lacrosse since 2013. For more information, visit

About the College Football Playoff Foundation and Extra Yard for Teachers
The College Football Playoff (CFP) Foundation is the charitable arm of the College Football Playoff, supporting education across the country. The CFP Foundation's primary platform, Extra Yard for Teachers, elevates the teaching profession by inspiring and empowering teachers through the implementation of programs in four focus areas: resources, recognition, recruitment and professional development. The CFP Foundation utilizes multiple partnerships to execute its initiatives and support positive educational outcomes. To learn more, visit and follow Extra Yard for Teachers (@CFPExtraYard) on social media.