Big Ten Weekly Football Release

Big Ten Football Release PDF Get Acrobat Reader

  Ohio State has secured both a share of the East Division title and a berth in the 2017 Big Ten Football Championship Game presented by Discover with a 7-1 conference record, one game ahead of Michigan State and Penn State (both of whom the Buckeyes defeated earlier this season). Ohio State can clinch the outright East Division title Saturday with either a win over Michigan or losses by both Michigan State and Penn State.

  Wisconsin locked up the outright West Division title and will face Ohio State in the Big Ten Football Championship Game. The Badgers are atop the West Division with an 8-0 Big Ten record, two games ahead of Northwestern.

  Wisconsin has extended its school-record 11-0 start this season (previous bests were 9-0 debuts in 1998 and 2004) and remain one of four undefeated programs in the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The Badgers have also won 14 consecutive Big Ten games, the longest streak in school history, topping a pair of nine-game conference win streaks (2006-07 and 2010-11).

  Northwestern has won six consecutive games (all during Big Ten play) for the first time since 1996. The Wildcats have also won 25 games in the past three seasons, the program’s best three-year stretch since 1903-05, when they won 26 games.

  Northwestern’s Justin Jackson became the second running back in Big Ten history and ninth in FBS history to rush for 1,000 yards in four consecutive seasons, joining former Wisconsin great and 1999 Heisman Trophy winner Ron Dayne, who pulled off that feat from 1996-99. Jackson also became the sixth Big Ten student to rush for 5,000 yards in his career.

  With its 41-0 win over Rutgers last weekend, Indiana recorded its first shutout in a Big Ten game since Oct. 30, 1993, when the Hoosiers blanked Michigan State, 10-0. It was also Indiana’s second shutout of the season and the fewest points the Hoosiers have allowed in a two-week span (14) since that 1993 season.

  Seven Big Ten schools — Iowa, Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin — have clinched bowl berths by reaching six victories on the season. Indiana, Minnesota and Purdue can join that group with one more win, with the Hoosiers and Boilermakers meeting for the Old Oaken Bucket Saturday in West Lafayette. The Big Ten continues to feature the largest bowl lineup in conference history, and the full list of Big Ten postseason destinations can be found on page four.

  Fifteen Big Ten football students earned Academic All-District honors and are eligible for Academic All-America recognition — Indiana’s Wes Martin, Iowa’s Parker Hesse and Anthony Nelson, Michigan’s Jordan Glasgow, Michigan State’s Cole Chewins, Minnesota’s Emmit Carpenter and Payton Jordahl, Nebraska’s Mick Stoltenberg and Chris Weber, Ohio State’s Sam Hubbard and Jordan Fuller, Penn State’s Blake Gillikin and Brandon Smith, Rutgers’ Ryan Anderson and Wisconsin’s Quintez Cephus.

This Week's Schedule

Nov. 24, 2017  Iowa at Nebraska Lincoln, NE 4:00 pm    FS1
Nov. 25, 2017  Ohio State at Michigan Ann Arbor, MI 12:00 pm    FOX
  Indiana at Purdue West Lafayette, IN 12:00 pm    ESPN2
  Penn State at Maryland College Park, MD 3:30 pm    BTN
  Wisconsin at Minnesota Minneapolis, MN 3:30 pm    ABC
  Northwestern at Illinois Champaign, IL 4:00 pm    FS1
Michigan State at Rutgers Piscataway, NJ 4:00 pm    FOX