Big Ten Announces Football Individual Award Winners
Nov. 30, 2017

2017 Big Ten Football - Individual Awards and All-Conference Teams Get Acrobat Reader

2017 All-Big Ten Teams - Offense

2017 All-Big Ten Teams - Defense/Special Teams

The Big Ten Conference announced the 2017 football individual award winners for offense, defense and special teams on Thursday.

The Big Ten postseason awards are voted on by conference coaches and a select media panel and honors teams, coaches and students with individual awards that each bear the names of one or two former standouts. The Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian and Ford-Kinnick Leadership awards were announced last week.

A complete list of the 2017 Big Ten football awards can be found on the attached PDF.

Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian Award: Chad Greenway, Iowa
Named for Minnesota’s Tony Dungy and Indiana’s Anthony Thompson

Ford-Kinnick Leadership Award: Troy Vincent, Wisconsin
Named for Michigan’s Gerald Ford and Iowa’s Nile Kinnick

Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State
Named for Northwestern’s Otto Graham and Ohio State’s Eddie George

Nagurski-Woodson Defensive Player of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa
Named for Minnesota’s Bronko Nagurski and Michigan’s Charles Woodson

Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin
Named for Minnesota’s Darrell Thompson and Indiana’s Antwaan Randle El

Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year (coaches vote): Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
Named for Ohio State’s Woody Hayes and Michigan’s Bo Schembechler

Dave McClain Coach of the Year (media vote): Paul Chryst, Wisconsin
Named for Wisconsin’s Dave McClain

Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year: J.T. Barrett, Ohio State
Named for Purdue’s Bob Griese and Drew Brees

Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year: DJ Moore, Maryland
Named for Wisconsin’s Pat Richter and Michigan’s Desmond Howard

Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State
Named for Wisconsin’s Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne

Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year: Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin
Named for Penn State’s Ted Kwalick and Iowa’s Dallas Clark

Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year: Billy Price, Ohio State
Named for Nebraska’s Dave Rimington and Ohio State’s Orlando Pace

Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year: Nick Bosa, Ohio State
Named for Michigan State’s Bubba Smith and Penn State’s Courtney Brown

Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year: Josey Jewell, Iowa
Named for Illinois’ Dick Butkus and Northwestern’s Pat Fitzgerald

Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year: Josh Jackson, Iowa
Named for Ohio State’s Jack Tatum and Purdue’s Rod Woodson

Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year: Griffin Oakes, Indiana
Named for Wisconsin’s Jim Bakken and Michigan State’s Morten Andersen

Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year: Ryan Anderson, Rutgers
Named for Illinois’ Dike Eddleman and Michigan State’s Brandon Fields

Rodgers-Dwight Return Specialist of the Year: Saquon Barkley, Penn State
Named for Nebraska’s Johnny Rodgers and Iowa’s Tim Dwight