Big Ten Leads All Conferences with Eight Academic All-Americans in Football

Dec. 1, 2005

The Big Ten topped all conferences with eight members of the 2005 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Football Team which was announced today, an increase of two over the league's six honorees from last season.
The Big Ten's eight Academic All-Americans this year include three first-team selections in Indiana defensive back Will Meyers, Iowa offensive lineman Mike Elgin and Penn State linebacker Paul Posluszny. The league's five second-team choices are Michigan wide receiver Jason Avant, the Michigan State duo of offensive lineman Chris Morris and quarterback Drew Stanton and the Minnesota pair of offensive lineman Greg Eslinger and defensive lineman Mark Losli. Eslinger was one of only six student-athletes to repeat as Academic All-Americans after being honored as a second-team selection in 2004.

To be eligible for Academic All-America honors, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.20 on a scale of 4.00 and have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at his current institution.