Four Football Standouts Repeat as Big Ten Individual Award Winners

Dec. 2, 2013

All-Big Ten & Award Winners Get Acrobat Reader

The Big Ten on Monday announced the 2013 All-Big Ten teams as well as 10 postseason individual award winners, with Michigan's Taylor Lewan, Northwestern's Jeff Budzien, Ohio State's Braxton Miller and Penn State's Allen Robinson earning individual honors for the second straight season. Michigan, Michigan State and Ohio State each claimed two individual trophies, while one standout each from Northwestern, Penn State, Purdue and Wisconsin earned an award.

Michigan's Lewan was named the Rimington-Pace Offensive Lineman of the Year for the second consecutive season, the first conference player to earn back-to-back accolades since fellow-Wolverine Jake Long was honored in 2006 and 2007. After sharing the award last season, Northwestern's Budzien was named the Bakken-Andersen Kicker of the Year for the second straight season. Ohio State's Miller earned the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year honor for the second consecutive year, while Penn State's Robinson claimed the Richter-Howard Receiver of the Year award in back-to-back seasons.

In other Big Ten individual honors, the Wolverines' Devin Funchess was tabbed the Kwalick-Clark Tight End of the Year, Michigan State's Darqueze Dennard earned the Tatum-Woodson Defensive Back of the Year honor, while teammate Shilique Calhoun was named the Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year. The Buckeyes' Carlos Hyde was tabbed the Ameche-Dayne Running Back of the Year, Purdue's Cody Webster claimed the Eddleman-Fields Punter of the Year honor, while Wisconsin's Chris Borland was named the Butkus-Fitzgerald Linebacker of the Year.

Thirteen Big Ten players were named repeat selections to the All-Big Ten first-team, including Michigan's Lewan, Michigan State linebacker Max Bullough, Dennard and punter Mike Sadler, Northwestern's Budzien, Ohio State's Miller, guard Andrew Norwell, defensive back Bradley Roby and linebacker Ryan Shazier, Penn State's Robinson and guard John Urschel and Wisconsin wide receiver Jared Abbrederis and Borland.

The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

The Big Ten postseason awards process is voted on by conference coaches and a select media panel and honors teams, coaches and student-athletes with individual honors that each bear the names of one or two former standouts. The Dungy-Thompson Humanitarian and Ford-Kinnick Leadership awards were announced last week, 10 individual trophies were announced Monday, and the remaining five trophy winners will be unveiled on Tuesday.

A complete list of the 2013 All-Big Ten teams and select individual award winners, along with this year's sportsmanship honorees, can be found on the PDF at the top of the page.