Eleven Big Ten Standouts Earn Recognition

Eleven Big Ten standouts earned recognition for their achievements this season, while one team was awarded for its academic accomplishments.

Barkley Earns Pair of Honors

Penn State running back Saquon Barkley has been selected as the Paul Hornung Award winner for the most versatile player in college football. He is the first Nittany Lion to win the honor and the second-straight Big Ten student, following Michigan’s Jabrill Peppers last season. [RELEASE]

Barkley also garnered his second Chicago Tribune Silver Football award, given to the league’s best player, it was announced today. He is the fifth player since the award’s inception in 1924 to claim the honor twice, joining the elite list of Minnesota’s Paul Giel (1952-53), Ohio State’s Archie Griffin (1973-74), Indiana’s Anthony Thompson (1988-89) and Ohio State’s Braxton Miller (2012-13). [RELEASE]

Price Claims Rimington Trophy

Ohio State’s Billy Price was awarded the 2017 Rimington Trophy, given to the nation’s most outstanding center. Price is the eighth player from a current Big Ten school to claim the Rimington Trophy and second straight from Ohio State, as Pat Elflein earned the honor last season. [RELEASE]

Eleven Standouts Named Walter Camp All-Americans

Eleven Big Ten standouts were named Walter Camp All-Americans, including four first-team selections. Price and Barkley were joined on the first team by Iowa teammates Josh Jackson and Josey Jewell. Second-team honorees included Michigan’s Devin Bush and Maurice Hurst, Ohio State’s Nick Bosa, and Wisconsin’s David Edwards, T.J. Edwards, Troy Fumagalli and Jonathan Taylor. [RELEASE]

Northwestern Earns AFCA Academic Achievement Award

Northwestern was named one of seven schools to share the American Football Coaches Association’s 2017 Academic Achievement Award, which is presented by the Touchdown Club of Memphis. All seven schools recorded a 100 percent graduation rate for members of its freshman football student-athlete class of 2010. This is Northwestern’s tenth honor dating back to 1997. [RELEASE]