Big Ten Announces Football Schedules for 2009 and 2010 Conference Seasons

Dec. 15, 2005

2009 and 2010 Schedule in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Park Ridge, Ill. - The Big Ten office announced the conference only schedules for the 2009 and 2010 football seasons today to establish the league slate for the next five years.

The 2009 Big Ten football season will begin on Sept. 26 with five contests, including Illinois at Ohio State, Indiana at Michigan, Iowa at Penn State, Michigan State at Wisconsin and Minnesota at Northwestern. The 2009 slate will conclude on Nov. 21 with the 106th meeting between the Wolverines and Buckeyes, the Wildcats hosting the Badgers and three traditional trophy games - Hoosiers-Boilermakers for the Old Oaken Bucket, Hawkeyes-Gophers for Floyd of Rosedale and Spartans-Nittany Lions for the Land Grant Trophy. The 2010 conference schedule is identical to the 2009 slate with the home and away teams reversed in each game and league play begins on Sept. 25 and concludes on Nov. 20.

With the 2005 Big Ten season complete, seven league teams have qualified for postseason bowls including Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin. The Big Ten's 2005-06 bowl slate begins on Dec. 28 when the Wolverines take on Nebraska in the Alamo Bowl and concludes on Jan. 3 with the Nittany Lions battling Florida State in the Orange Bowl.