Big Ten Men's Golf Begins Spring Schedule This Weekend

Illinois' Jonathan Hauter

Jan. 23, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten men’s golf spring season is set to begin on Saturday, with Illinois traveling to Placida, Fla., to compete in the Tinervin Cup versus Illinois State. The remaining 11 conference squads will begin their seasons in February.

All 12 conference teams will participate in the Big Ten Match Play Championship from Feb. 14-15 at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. The Fighting Illini won the Match Play Championship for the first time last season.  

Four Big Ten teams finished the 2013 fall season ranked in the Golfweek/Sagarin top 50 poll. Illinois led the way at No. 6, followed by No. 31 Northwestern, No. 42 Purdue and No. 43 Iowa.

The Big Ten Championships will be held from May 2-4 at French Lick Resort in French Lick, Ind. Illinois has won five consecutive Big Ten Championships. The NCAA Regionals will take place from May 15-17, while the NCAA Championships will be held the following week, May 23-28, in Hutchinson, Kan.