Big Ten Men's Golf Opens 2011 Slate This Weekend

Feb. 3, 2011

Big Ten men's golf begins its spring schedule this Saturday, as Indiana and Iowa compete for the first time in 2011. The Hoosiers will travel to Fort Myers, Fla., for the Big Red Shootout, while the Hawkeyes head west to Scottsdale, Ariz., to compete in the Big Four Match Play Championship.

The remaining nine conference teams will open the spring season on Feb. 11-12 at the Big Ten Match Play Championship in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla. All 11 Big Ten squads will compete in the annual event, which will be held at the PGA National Golf Club.

The Big Ten Men's Golf Championships, hosted by Purdue, are scheduled for April 29-May 1. NCAA Regionals are set for May 19-21, while the NCAA Championships are scheduled for May 31-June 5.

Seven teams enter the spring season ranked in the GolfWeek/Sagarin top 50, led by No. 6 Illinois. Iowa follows at No. 12, with No. 22 Ohio State, No. 25 Indiana, No. 28 Purdue, No. 30 Michigan and No. 31 Northwestern rounding out the conference contingent.

Click the below links for season outlooks and more information on all 11 Big Ten men's golf teams.

Michigan State
Ohio State
Penn State