Big Ten Match Play Championship Set for This Weekend

The 2013 Big Ten Match Play Championship is set for this weekend in Bradenton, Fla.

Feb. 7, 2013

Big Ten Match Play Bracket Get Acrobat Reader | Live Scoring

Big Ten men's golf teams are set to compete in the 2013 Big Ten Match Play Championship this weekend, with all 12 conference squads traveling to The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla., for the two-day event.

Competition gets underway on Friday morning with four first-round matches, followed by four second-round contests that afternoon. The semifinals and consolation rounds will take place on Saturday morning, while the championship match, along with the third-, fifth- and seventh-place matches, will be contested that afternoon. Each team will submit a roster of six players prior to the event and will choose a five-player lineup for each match from that group.

Opening-round matches begin at 7:30 a.m. ET on Friday, with No. 8 Minnesota taking on No. 9 Michigan and No. 7 Michigan State playing No. 10 Penn State. The other two first-round contests will tee off at 8:08 a.m. as No. 5 Ohio State squares off against No. 12 Wisconsin and No. 6 Purdue takes on No. 11 Nebraska. Semifinal matches begin on Saturday at 7:30 a.m., while the finals will tee off at 1 p.m.

Illinois, Indiana, Iowa and Northwestern received the top four seeds and first-round byes in the tournament based on their Golfstat ranking following the fall season. The top-seeded Illini will take on either the Gophers or Wolverines, while the No. 2 Wildcats will face either the Spartans or Nittany Lions in the second round at Noon on Friday. The No. 3 seed Hawkeyes will play the winner of the Huskers and Boilermakers, while the No. 4 Hoosiers await the winner of the Buckeyes and Badgers at 12:40 p.m.

Indiana and Northwestern have laid claim to the four Big Ten Match Play Championship titles, with the Wildcats entering this year's competition as the three-time defending champions. Saturday's action will be broadcast on BTN on tape delay, airing on March 10 at 10:30 a.m. ET.