Big Ten Men's Golf Match Play Preview

Feb. 9, 2017

2017 Big Ten Match Play Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

– Eleven Big Ten men’s golf teams are set to compete in the 2017 Big Ten Match Play Championship on Friday and Saturday. The event will be held at the Hammock Beach Resort Conservatory Course in Palm Coast, Fla.

The eleven teams have been drawn into a single-elimination bracket, with the seeds determined using the Nov. 9, 2016, final fall GolfStat rankings. Each team match will consist of six individual matches. Play gets started on Friday morning with a shotgun start at 8 a.m. ET for the first round and one quarterfinal. In the first round, No. 6 Ohio State faces No. 11 Rutgers, No. 7 Minnesota goes up against No. 10 Nebraska, and No. 8 Iowa will match up with No. 9 Indiana. Saturday morning’s quarterfinal match-up features No. 4 Purdue vs. No. 5 Penn State.

In Friday’s afternoon session, beginning at 1:15 p.m. ET, top-ranked Michigan State will play the winner of the Iowa/Indiana match, No. 2 Michigan takes the course against the winner of Minnesota/Nebraska, and No. 3 Northwestern faces the winner of Ohio State/Rutgers.

On Saturday, the morning session (8 a.m. ET) features the championship semifinals and consolation semifinals, while Saturday afternoon concludes with the championship, third-, fifth- and seventh-place matches.

Michigan State won its first Big Ten Match Play Championship last year, defeating Northwestern by a tally of 5-1 in the championship match. BTN will broadcast the 2017 Big Ten Match Play Championship on Sat., Feb. 25 at 11:30 a.m. ET.

Live scoring for the event can be found here, while live updates will be provided on the event’s official Twitter handle, @B1GMatchPlay.

In other action this weekend, Wisconsin makes its spring debut on Saturday when they travel to the Charleston Shootout at the Osprey Point Golf Club in Kiawah Island, S.C.