Big Ten Match Play Championship Set for This Weekend

Feb. 10, 2011

2011 Big Ten Match Play Championship Bracket and Schedule | Live Scoring

All 11 conference men's golf teams travel to Palm Beach Gardens, Fla., this weekend to compete in the 2011 Big Ten Match Play Championship on Feb. 11-12. The squads will take part in the two-day event at PGA National Resort, marking the beginning of the spring season for nine teams. The competition will be broadcast on the Big Ten Network on Sunday at noon ET.

The first round of the event is scheduled for Friday morning, while quarterfinal matches are set for that afternoon. Championship and consolation semifinals will take place on Saturday morning with the first-, third-, fifth- and seventh-place matches following in the afternoon. Each match between the schools will consist of six head-to-head contests.

The competition kicks off at 7 a.m. ET on Friday, with six teams squaring off for spots in the quarterfinals. Top-seeded Illinois, No. 2 Iowa, No. 3 Ohio State, No. 4 Northwestern and No. 5 Michigan each received byes into the second round after finishing the fall season with the highest Golfstat rankings.

The fourth-seeded Wildcats will take on the fifth-seeded Wolverines in the first quarterfinal of the day. The Illini, ranked seventh in the country, will take on the winner of No. 8 Penn State and No. 9 Minnesota on Friday afternoon. The 12th-ranked Hawkeyes will see the winner of No. 7 Indiana and No. 10 Wisconsin, while the 22nd-ranked Buckeyes are set to square off with No. 6 Purdue or No. 11 Michigan State.

Northwestern enters the event as the reigning champion, sweeping Purdue in the final match of the 2010 championship to earn the title.