Northwestern Wins 2011 Big Ten Match Play Championship

Feb. 12, 2011

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. - Northwestern defeated Indiana, 4-2, to earn its second-straight Big Ten Match Play Championship title on Saturday at PGA National Resort. The fourth-seeded Wildcats used wins from David Lipsky, Eric Chun, Nick Losole and Jack Perry to take down the seventh-seeded Hoosiers.

Northwestern defeated No. 5 Michigan, 5-1, in the quarterfinals before upending top-seeded Illinois on a tiebreaker after playing to a 3-3 tie in the semifinals. The Wildcats are now 10-1 all-time at the Big Ten Match Play Championship, winning their last nine matches dating back to 2009.

Click here to see the complete recap from Northwestern.