Big Ten Match Play Championship Set for This Weekend

Feb. 13, 2014

2014 Big Ten Match Play Bracket Get Acrobat Reader

ROSEMONT, Ill. – All 12 Big Ten men’s golf teams are set to compete in the 2014 Big Ten Match Play Championship this weekend. The two-day event will be held Bradenton, Fla., at The Concession Golf Club.

Play will begin on Friday morning with four first-round matches starting at 7:30 a.m. ET, followed by four quarterfinal contests scheduled to begin at noon. The semifinals will take place Saturday morning at approximately 7:30 a.m., while the championship match will begin at 1 p.m. 

In Friday’s opening-round matches, eighth-seeded Michigan will take on No. 9 Michigan State and No. 7 seed Minnesota will face 10th-seeded Penn State. Other first-round matches include No. 5 Ohio State squaring off against No. 12 Nebraska and sixth-seeded Indiana competing against No. 11 Wisconsin.

Illinois, Iowa, Northwestern and Purdue all earned top-four seeds and first-round byes in the tournament based on their Golfstat ranking at the conclusion of the fall season. The top-seeded Illini will face either the Wolverines or the Spartans, while the No. 2 Boilermakers will take on either the Golden Gophers or Nittany Lions. The third-seeded Wildcats will play the winner of the Indiana-Wisconsin match, while the fourth-seeded Hawkeyes will tee off against either the Buckeyes or Cornhuskers.

Illinois won its first Big Ten Match Play Championship last year. BTN will broadcast the 2014 Big Ten Match Play Championship via tape delay on Sunday, March 16. The 90-minute program will air at a time to be determined.