Men's Golf Championships Preview

April 27, 2017

MGolf Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

Live Scoring

Championships Central

-- The 2017 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships are set to take place this weekend in Baltimore, Md. The 54-hole competition will get underway in the first round Friday at 9 a.m. ET. The second round will begin at 9 a.m. on Saturday, with the final round slated for 8 a.m. on Sunday. The championships will be held at the 7,181-yard, par-70 trek at Baltimore Country Club’s Five Farms East Course.

Eight top-11 finishers from last season’s Big Ten Championships return to this year’s event, including Illinois’ Dylan Meyer (T9), Iowa’s Carson Schaake (4th), Raymond Knoll (5th) and Matthew Walker (T6), Maryland’s David Kocher (T6), Michigan’s Kyle Mueller (3rd), Michigan State’s Sam Weatherhead (T9), and Northwestern’s Dylan Wu (T6).

Four Big Ten teams are ranked among the top 50 according to the latest Golfweek/Sagarin national rankings. Illinois leads the way at No. 7, followed by No. 29 Purdue, No. 30 Northwestern and No. 50 Penn State.

Illinois claimed its 14th Big Ten Championship last season after shooting a three-round score of 838. The Fighting Illini were followed by second-place Iowa (851), third-place Maryland (866), Michigan and Michigan State, which tied for fourth-place (867), and Purdue and Northwestern, which finished in a sixth-place tie (873).

BTN will debut coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships on Sunday, May 7 at 11 a.m. ET.