Illinois Wins 2013 Men's Big Ten Golf Championships

April 28, 2013

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting an 11-over 1,163 to clinch its fifth-straight, and 12th overall, conference title. The Illini bested second-place Minnesota (1,172) by nine strokes to win the crown. The Illini and Gophers were followed by third-place Iowa (1,186), while Indiana and Ohio State (1,190) tied for fourth.

Illinois' Thomas Pieters won the championships' individual medal, shooting a 4-under 284 over four rounds. Teammate Brian Campbell and Minnesota’s Erik Van Rooyen finished tied for second place, followed by Ohio State’s Boo Timko in fourth. Iowa’s Joseph Winslow and Purdue’s Adam Schenk tied for fifth. Each player was named to the 2013 Big Ten All-Championships Team.

Northwestern’s Jack Perry was honored with the Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest season stroke average.