2010 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships Preview

April 29, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Championships Central

Windsong Farm Golf Club is the site of the 2010 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships, hosted by the University of Minnesota, from April 30-May 2. Opening rounds will begin at 8 a.m. on Friday, then players will head back to the tees at approximately 1 p.m. for the start of the second round. Saturday’s third round is scheduled for 9 a.m., and Sunday’s final will begin at 8 a.m.

Five conference golfers are ranked in the top 81 of the latest Golfweek rankings, three of which finished among the top five at last year’s championships. Penn State’s Kevin Foley, ranked No. 39 in the latest polls, earned runner-up honors in 2009, while Illinois’ Chris DeForest (No. 65) and Minnesota’s Ben Pisani (No. 58) finished tied for third.

Illinois won its first Big Ten Championship since 1988 at last year’s event, rebounding from a round one total of 292 and an eighth-place team standing after 18 holes. The Illini finished with team scores of 288, 284, and 285 to ultimately win the Big Ten Championship by 13 strokes over second-place Minnesota. They return all five participants from the 2009 championships, all of which finished in the top 20 of the final individual standings a year ago. Along with DeForest, Scott Langley is ranked in the latest Golfweek poll, appearing at No. 24.

Minnesota’s runner-up effort at the 2009 championships was led by a pair of top-five finishers, the only school with two golfers in the top five. In addition to Pisani finishing in a tie for third, Gopher teammate Derek Chang also finished in a tie for third after both concluded the tournament with a four-round total of 286, just three shots behind the top individual. The Gophers will enjoy the advantages of being on their home course as they search for their second championship in four years.

Indiana finished third at last year’s championships, headlined by 2009 Big Ten Player of the Year Jorge Campillo’s sixth-place finish. Two other Hoosiers finished in the top 22 individually to cement their standing in the team race, including Alex Martin at No. 10 overall and David Erdy at No. 22.

Northwestern’s Eric Chun, who was named Freshman of the Year following the championships, returns to defend his status as the individual champion. Chun finished with a one-under par 283 to hold off the field and win medalist honors at the 2009 championships.