Illinois Wins 2012 Men's Big Ten Golf Championships

April 29, 2012

Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting a 23-over 1,175 to clinch its fourth-straight and 11th overall conference title. The Fighting Illini took the lead in the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the event, outshooting second-place Indiana (+26) by three strokes. Northwestern (+34) finished third at the championships, followed by fourth-place Michigan State (+40) and fifth-place Purdue (+50).

Illinois' Luke Guthrie won his second consecutive championships' individual medal, shooting a 5-under 283 over four rounds. Northwestern’s Sam Chien recorded the second under-par round of the championships, carding a one-under 287 for the event. Michigan’s Matt Thompson (+1), Indiana’s David Mills (+4) and Michigan State’s Dan Ellis (+5) rounded out the top five.

Guthrie was also honored with the Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest stroke average to par this season. The All-Championships Team featured the Illini’s Guthrie and Thomas Pieters, Indiana’s Mills, Michigan’s Thompson, Michigan’s State’s Ellis and Northwestern’s Chien.