Illinois Men’s Golf Wins Third Straight Big Ten Championship

Illinois earned its third straight Big Ten Championships title

April 30, 2017

Final Team Results Get Acrobat Reader

Final Individual Results Get Acrobat Reader

BALTIMORE – Illinois won its third straight Big Ten Championship in men's golf after shooting a three-round score of 829 in the 2017 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships at Baltimore Country Club. The Fighting Illini, which won their 15th Big Ten title and eighth in the last nine years, also earned the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA Championship.

Illinois’ team score marks a new Big Ten Championships record, surpassing the previous standard of 838 set by the Illini last season. The Fighting Illini were followed by second-place Northwestern (845), Ohio State in third place (855) and Iowa, Penn State and Purdue, which all tied for fourth-place with a tally of 858.

Illinois’ Dylan Meyer won the individual Big Ten title, shooting a 5-under par 205 (63-73-69), including an opening round 63 that set a Big Ten Championships and Baltimore Country Club record. Northwestern’s Ryan Lumsden and the Buckeyes’ Will Grimmer finished in a second-place tie (206), followed by Maryland’s David Kocher and Penn State’s Charles Huntzinger, who finished tied for fourth place (208). All five players earned a spot on the Big Ten All-Championships team.

Northwestern’s Dylan Wu was honored with the Big Ten's Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest stroke average during the 2016-17 season.

BTN will debut coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships on Sunday, May 7 at 11 a.m. ET. The NCAA Men's Golf Championship selection show will air on the Golf Channel on Thursday, May 4 at noon ET.