Illinois Wins 2011 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships

May 1, 2011

Final Results | Illinois Recap

WEST LAFAYETTE, Ind. - Illinois won the Big Ten Men's Golf Championships on Sunday, shooting a 7-under 281 to clinch its third-straight and 10th overall conference title. The Fighting Illini took the lead in the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the tournament, outshooting the rest of the field by 19 strokes at 8-over par. After matching Illinois with a 7-under 281 in round four, Northwestern took second place at 27-over, followed by Iowa (+29) in third, Ohio State (+38) in fourth and Indiana (+40) in fifth.

Illinois' Luke Guthrie won the championships' individual medal, shooting a 2-under 70 in the final round to close the tournament at 1-under. Guthrie is the first Illini to earn medalist honors since Larry Nuger tied for first place in 1999. Iowa's Chris Brant finished in second place, concluding the event at even-par. Northwestern's David Lipsky posted the lowest round of the day on Sunday, shooting a 5-under 67 to push him into third place at 1-over for the tournament.

Iowa's Vince India received the Big Ten's Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest stroke average to par this season. India, who averaged a 71.08 to lead all Big Ten golfers, is the first Hawkeye to win the award since Brad Klapprott took home the honor in 1992.

The conference also announced the All-Championships Team following the conclusion of the tournament. Illinois' Guthrie led the way and was joined by teammates Chris DeForest and Scott Langley, Indiana's Chase Wright, Iowa's Brant, Michigan State's Chris Mory, Minnesota's Erik Van Rooyen and Northwestern's Lipsky.