Big Ten Announces Men's Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

May 1, 2012

The Big Ten announced on Tuesday the men’s golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners with Illinois’ Luke Guthrie taking home the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Ohio State’s Grant Weaver was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while conference champion Illinois’ head coach Mike Small was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Guthrie finished the regular season as the 11th-ranked golfer in the country by Golfweek/Sagarin and the 18th-ranked player in the nation by Golfstat. The Fighting Illini senior claimed individual medalist honors, leading Illinois to the Big Ten Championships crown, posting a 5-under 283 over 72 holes. Guthrie was also honored with the Big Ten’s Les Bolstad Award, given to the Big Ten player with the lowest stroke average to par. Guthrie is the second Illinois golfer in the last three years to win the award, as Scott Langley took home Player of the Year honors in 2010.

Weaver is the first Ohio State newcomer to claim Freshman of the Year honors since Chris Smith in 1988. The Wooster, Ohio, native posted a 72.84 rating through nine tournaments this season and finished tied for 21st at the Big Ten Championships.

Small earns his fourth straight Coach of the Year award and the fifth of his career after leading the Illini to their fourth consecutive and 11th overall Big Ten title. The Illini took the lead after the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the tournament, winning by three strokes over the rest of the field. The award is the sixth in Illinois history after Ed Beard took home the inaugural honor in 1988.

The conference also announced its All-Big Ten teams, with Illinois’ Guthrie and Thomas Pieters, Indiana’s David Mills and Chase Wright, Iowa’s Barrett Kelpin and Northwestern’s Eric Chun earning first-team honors. Illinois’ Mason Jacobs, Iowa’s Chris Brant and Steven Ihm, Michigan’s Matt Thompson, Minnesota’s Erik Van Rooyen and Purdue’s Tyler Duncan claimed second-team honors.



The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


All-Big Ten
First Team

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Thomas Pieters, Illinois

David Mills, Indiana

Chase Wright, Indiana

Barrett Kelpin, Iowa

Eric Chun, Northwestern

Second Team

Mason Jacobs, Illinois

Chris Brant, Iowa

Steven Ihm, Iowa

Matt Thompson, Michigan

Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota

Tyler Duncan, Purdue

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Grant Weaver, Ohio State

Mike Small, Illinois


Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Chase Wright, Indiana

Chris Brant, Iowa

Matt Thompson, Michigan

Dave Ellis, Michigan State

Robert Bell, Minnesota

Jordan Reinertson, Nebraska

Sam Chien, Northwestern

Alex Redfield, Ohio State

Anthony DeGol, Penn State

Justin Cho, Purdue

Thomas O’Bryan, Wisconsin