Big Ten Men's Golf Postseason Honors Announced

May 2, 2006

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - Just days after a thrilling finish to the 2006 Big Ten Men's Golf Championships, the league coaches have selected 12 student-athletes for All-Conference honors, with two individuals and one coach earning special recognition, it was announced today by the conference office.  Northwestern junior David Merkow was tabbed Player of the Year by the 11 mentors, while Indiana's Jorge Campillo was a unanimous selection for Freshman of the Year.  The Hoosiers' Mike Mayer was named the league's Coach of the Year by his peers.  In addition, 11 honorees were also chosen for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. 

Three days shy of his 21st birthday, Merkow became the first Wildcat to earn Player of the Year honors since current PGA Tour star Luke Donald won three straight from 1999-2001.  The NU junior finished the season rated first in the Golfweek/Sagarin Big Ten Player Ratings, having defeated 212 of the 270 conference golfers he competed against this season.  Despite tying for 24th at the Big Ten Championships, Merkow led the Wildcats with six top-20 finishes over the year, which included a first-place effort at the 2005 Big Ten/Pac-10 Challenge in October.

Campillo is the first Hoosier newcomer since Jody Roudebush in 1991 and just the second overall to earn Freshman of the Year honors.  The Caceres, Spain, native became the second true freshman in the program's history to win a tournament after lapping the field by eight strokes at the Boilermaker Invitational in early April.  Campillo, who also tied for 24th at the conference championships, led all league linksters with three Golfer of the Week honors this spring.  His current average of 72.72 over 36 rounds is on pace to shatter the school freshman scoring record of 74.45, set by PGA Tour standout and former two-time Big Ten Player of the Year Jeff Overton.

A man who has coached both of those individuals, Mayer was selected by his peers as the league's top mentor for the first time in his eight years in Bloomington.  Prior to taking over the reigns as the Hoosiers' head coach, Mayer spent nine years as an assistant under Sam Carmichael, who was named Coach of the Year in 1991 and 1998.  In 2005, he led Indiana back into the NCAA Championships for the second straight year, which marked the first time since the 1995-96 and 1996-97 seasons the Hoosiers made return appearances in the postseason.
Among the six First-Team All-Big Ten honorees, five student-athletes earned their first career selection.  Minnesota's Bronson La'Cassie, the Freshman of the Year in 2004, was named to the team for the third-straight year and joined Indiana's Campillo, Michigan State's Ryan Brehm, Northwestern's Merkow and Big Ten Champion Chris Wilson and Purdue's Pariya Junhasavasdikul on the 2006 squad.

Second-Team All-Conference members include Illinois' Patrick Nagle and Mark Ogren, Michigan State's Matt Harmon, Northwestern's Dillon Dougherty, Ohio State's Colin Biles and Purdue's Peter Richardson.

The conference office also announced today honorees from each of the league's 11 men's golf squads for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Honorees for men's golf are Illinois' Blair Harkins, Indiana's Drew Allenspach, Iowa's Andy Tiedt, Michigan's Brian Ottenweller, Michigan State's Zac Zedrick, Minnesota's Victor Almstrom, Northwestern's Kyle Moore, Ohio State's David Vallina, Penn State's Robert Rohanna, Purdue's Junhasavasdikul Wisconsin's Garrett Jones.  These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

A complete listing of the 2006 All-Big Ten Teams and individual honors follows:




Jorge Campillo, Indiana

Patrick Nagle, Illinois

Ryan Brehm, Michigan State

Mark Ogren, Illinois

Bronson La'Cassie, Minnesota

Matt Harmon, Michigan State

David Merkow, Northwestern

Dillon Dougherty, Northwestern

Chris Wilson, Northwestern

Colin Biles, Ohio State

Pariya Junhasavasdikul, Purdue

Peter Richardson, Purdue





David Merkow, Northwestern

Mike Mayer, Indiana





Jorge Campillo, Indiana (*Unanimous)



Blair Harkins, Illinois
Drew Allenspach, Indiana
Andy Tiedt, Iowa
Brian Ottenweller, Michigan
Zac Zedrick, Michigan State
Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
Kyle Moore, Northwestern
David Vallina, Ohio State
Robert Rohanna, Penn State
Pariya Junhasavasdikul, Purdue
Garrett Jones, Wisconsin