Big Ten Announces Men's Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

Purdue's Adam Schenk was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year.

May 2, 2011

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten announced on Monday its men's golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners with Iowa's Vince India taking home the Big Ten Player of the Year award. Purdue's Adam Schenk was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, while conference champion Illinois' head coach Mike Small was tabbed Coach of the Year.

India closed the regular season as the eighth-ranked golfer in the country by Golfstat and the 13th-ranked player in the nation by Golfweek/Sagarin. The Hawkeye senior, who was also honored with the Big Ten's Les Bolstad Award given to the Big Ten player with the lowest stroke average to par, earned top-15 finishes in all nine of the stoke-play tournaments he competed in this season and took medalist honors three times. He also helped Iowa to a third-place finish at the Big Ten Championships, tying for 13th place individually. India is the second Iowa golfer to win the award and first since Brad Klapprott earned the honor in 1992.

Schenk earned top-three finishes in three tournaments and took medalist honors twice en route to Freshman of the Year laurels. The newcomer also tied for 10th at the Big Ten Championships to lead the Boilermakers. He becomes the first Purdue Freshman of the Year since Chris Mayson in 2000 and second overall.

Small collects his third-straight Coach of the Year award and fourth of his career after leading the Illini to their third consecutive and 10th overall Big Ten title. The Illini took the lead after the second round of the championships and remained in front through the rest of the tournament, winning by 19 strokes over the rest of the field. The award is the fifth in Illinois history after Ed Beard took home the inaugural honor in 1988.

The conference also announced its All-Big Ten teams, with Illinois' Luke Guthrie and Scott Langley, Iowa's Brad Hopfinger and India, Northwestern's David Lipsky and Ohio State's Bo Hoag earning first-team all-conference honors. Illinois' Chris DeForest, Indiana's David Erdy, Iowa's Chris Brant, Michigan's Lion Kim, Minnesota's Donald Constable and Ohio State's Brad Smith reeled in second-team honors.



The Big Ten also recognized 11 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.


Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Scott Langley, Illinois
Brad Hopfinger, Iowa
Vince India, Iowa
David Lipsky, Northwestern
Bo Hoag, Ohio State

Chris DeForest, Illinois
David Erdy, Indiana
Chris Brant, Iowa
Lion Kim, Michigan
Donald Constable, Minnesota
Brad Smith, Ohio State

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Vince India, Iowa
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Adam Schenk, Purdue
COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Small, Illinois

Clayton Parkhill, Illinois
Chase Wright, Indiana
Chris Brant, Iowa
Matt Thompson, Michigan
Chris Mory, Michigan State
Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
Eric Chun, Northwestern
Brad Smith, Ohio State
T.J. Howe, Penn State
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Thomas Welk, Wisconsin