Conference Office Announces Men's Golf All-Big Ten Teams

Michigan's Jack Schultz was named Big Ten Freshman of the Year, the conference office announced on Tuesday.

May 4, 2010

PARK RIDGE, Ill. - The Big Ten Conference office announced on Tuesday the members of the 2010 All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners, as voted on by the conference coaches. Illinois' Scott Langley was named conference Player of the Year, the first time an Illinois golfer has won the award since 2003, while mentor Mike Small was named Big Ten Coach of the Year by his peers. Michigan's Jack Schultz was the coaches' unanimous choice for Big Ten Freshman of the Year. Also, the conference honored one student-athlete from each institution to receive the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award.

Langley was one of the Illini's most consistent performers, having finished 23 rounds at or under par. His five top-five finishes during the 2009-10 season were tops among the Illini golfers, and he was in the top 25 of the individual standings in every tournament during the year. Currently the nation's 29th-ranked golfer in the Golfweek/Sagarin poll, Langley boasts a rating of 70.40 and a stroke average of 71.59. He will lead the Illini into NCAA Regional play after they clinched the conference's automatic berth with their second-straight win at the Big Ten Championships.

Schultz becomes the first Wolverine to be named Big Ten Freshman of the Year since 1999 and was a unanimous choice as this year's honoree. A fifth-place finish at last week's Big Ten Championships gave him his third top-10 finish of the season, and he has played 10 rounds of par or better. Schultz has started all 11 of the Wolverines' tournaments this season and recorded Michigan's season-best score six-under 66 in the first round of the Bridgestone Intercollegiate. His stroke average of 73.47 currently ranks as the top freshman mark¬ in Michigan history.

Small was named conference Coach of the Year for the second-straight season after guiding the Illini to their second Big Ten Championship in as many years. It is the third time Small has won the award in his career, having also claimed the honor in 2002. All five of his golfers finished in the top 25 at last weekend's Big Ten Championships, which marked the Illini's sixth tournament victory of the season and fourth since the start of the new year. Under his direction, four golfers earned All-Big Ten status this season, including Chris DeForest, Luke Guthrie and Langley on the first team and Zach Barlow on the second team.



Other conference student-athletes to achieve first-team All-Big Ten status include Ben Pisani of Minnesota, 2010 Big Ten Championships medalist David Lipsky and Kevin Foley of Penn State. All three were All-Big Ten members a season ago. DeForest and Langley were first-team members last year, while Guthrie is a first-team honoree for the first time.

Second-team All-Big Ten performers include Illinois' Barlow, Indiana's Alex Martin, Michigan's Lion Kim and Matt Thompson, Michigan State's Jack Newman and Purdue's Erich Johnston.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The 11 student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. These student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

A complete list of All-Big Ten Team members, individual award winners and sportsmanship honorees can be found below.

All- Big Ten Teams:
First Team

Scott Langley, ILL
Chris DeForest, ILL
Luke Guthrie, ILL
Ben Pisani, MINN
David Lipsky, NU
Kevin Foley, PSU

Second Team:
Zach Barlow, ILL
Alex Martin, IND
Lion Kim, MICH
Matt Thompson, MICH
Jack Newman, MSU
Erich Johnston, PUR

Player of the Year:
Scott Langley, ILL

Freshman of the Year:
Jack Schultz, MICH

Coach of the Year:
Mike Small, ILL

Sportsmanship Honorees:
Matt Hoffman, ILL
Brant Peaper, IND
Chris Brant, IOWA
Matt Thompson, MICH
Jack Newman, MSU
Ben Pisani, MINN
Jonathan Bowers, NU
Brad Wright, OSU
Kevin Foley, PSU
Erich Johnston, PUR
Thomas Welk, WIS