Minnesota Wins 2014 Big Ten Men's Golf Championship

May 4, 2014

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

FRENCH LICK, Ind. – Minnesota claimed the Big Ten Championship in men’s golf on Sunday after shooting a four-round score of 1,186 at the 2014 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships. The Golden Gophers were followed by second-place Illinois (1,190), third-place Iowa (1,194), fourth-place Northwestern (1,204) and fifth-place Purdue (1,205) at the par-72, 7,152-yard Pete Dye Course. Minnesota earned the Big Ten’s automatic berth into the NCAA Championships. This is the eighth team title for the Golden Gophers and first since 2007.

Illinois’ Charlie Danielson and Minnesota’s Jose Mendez shared the individual Big Ten title, shooting a 1-over 289. Due to the Big Ten’s tiebreaking procedures, Danielson earns the conference’s individual automatic bid to the NCAA Championships. Minnesota’s Jon Trasamar and Northwestern’s Jack Perry tied for third place (294), while Iowa’s Steven Ihm finished fifth (295). All five student-athletes earned a spot on the Big Ten All-Championships team.

Danielson was also honored with the Big Ten’s Les Bolstad Award, given to the conference player with the lowest season stroke average (71.07) this season.

BTN will provide tape-delayed coverage of the Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships on Wednesday, May 14 at 7 p.m. ET. The NCAA Men’s Golf Championships selection show will air on the Golf Channel on Monday beginning at 10 a.m. ET.