NCAA Men's Golf Regional Field Announced

May 7, 2012

Six Big Ten teams and three individuals have been selected to compete in the NCAA Men's Golf Regionals. The Big Ten contingent will be represented at five of the six regional sites, with the top five teams and top individual not on one of those teams advancing from each regional to the NCAA Championship. Three regionals will host 13 teams and 10 individuals while the other three sites will welcome 14 teams and five individuals. The regionals are scheduled for May 17-19.

Two Big Ten teams and three individual golfers will travel to the Ann Arbor Regional. Purdue will compete as the No. 9 seed, while Ohio State earned the No. 12 seed. Michigan’s Matt Thompson, Michigan State’s Dan Ellis and Minnesota’s Erik Van Rooyen will compete as individuals.

Big Ten Champion and No. 7 seed Illinois will travel to the Norman Regional, with Nebraska’s Scott Willman competing as an individual. Indiana and Iowa both earned No. 5 seeds, as the Hoosiers head to the Greensboro Regional and the Hawkeyes travel to the Athens Regional. Northwestern will visit the Bowling Green Regional as the No. 9 seed.

The 2012 NCAA Men's Golf Championship is set for May 29-June 3 at Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, Calif.