Big Ten Announces Men's Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

May 7, 2014

ROSEMONT, Ill. – The Big Ten Conference office announced the men’s golf All-Conference teams and individual award winners on Wednesday, as voted on by the conference coaches following the 2014 Big Ten Men’s Golf Championships. Illinois’ Brian Campbell was named the Big Ten Player of the Year, Minnesota’s Jose Mendez was tabbed the Big Ten Freshman of the Year and the Golden Gophers’ John Carlson claimed Big Ten Coach of the Year honors.

Campbell earned the Player of the Year award after finishing among the top 10 in five tournaments during the fall and spring season, including a first-place finish at the Macdonald Cup in October after firing a 13-under 197 (64-67-66). He tied for 12th at the Big Ten Championships after carding a four-round score of 300 (72-73-82-73). This is the third consecutive Player of the Year honor for Illinois and fourth in the last five years.

Mendez captured the Freshman of the Year laurel after sharing the individual Big Ten title and guiding the Gophers to the Big Ten Championship, finishing the event with a four-round score of 1-over 289 (69-74-73-73). During the season, he also won individual medalist honors at the Duck Invitational and Rutherford Intercollegiate. Mendez becomes Minnesota’s first Freshman of the Year winner since Bronson La’Cassie in 2004.

Carlson led the Gophers to their first Big Ten Championship since 2007 and eighth title in program history. Minnesota shot a four-round score of 1,186 at the Pete Dye Course, beating second-place Illinois by four strokes. This is the first award for Carlson and first for the program since 2003.

The All-Big Ten first team features Illinois’ Campbell, Charlie Danielson and Thomas Detry, Iowa’s Steven Ihm, Minnesota’s Mendez and Northwestern’s Jack Perry, with Campbell, Danielson, Detry, Ihm and Perry all earning unanimous first-team nods. The second-team honorees include Iowa’s Brian Bullington and Ian Vandersee, Michigan’s Chris O’Neill, Ohio State’s Boo Timko and Purdue’s Austin Eoff and Adam Schenk.



The Big Ten also recognized 12 Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. The complete list of honorees can be found below.

Big Ten Player of the Year: Brian Campbell, Illinois
Big Ten Freshman of the Year: Jose Mendez, Minnesota
Big Ten Coach of the Year: John Carlson, Minnesota 

First Team
Jose Mendez, Minnesota
JACK PERRY, Northwestern

Second Team
Brian Bullington, Iowa
Ian Vandersee, Iowa
Chris O’Neill, Michigan
Boo Timko, Ohio State
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Austin Eoff, Purdue 

Unanimous selections in ALL CAPS

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jonathan Hauter, Illinois
Hugo Menendez, Indiana
Brian Bullington, Iowa
Bryce Evon, Michigan
Carson Castellani, Michigan State
Jon DuToit, Minnesota
Josh Reinertson, Nebraska
Bennett Lavin, Northwestern
Boo Timko, Ohio State
Geoff Vartelas, Penn State
Adam Schenk, Purdue
Ben Skogen, Wisconsin