Six Conference Teams Selected To NCAA Regionals

Michigan State's Jack Newman is one of three conference individuals that were selected to the NCAA Championships.

May 10, 2010

The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee selected six Big Ten teams and three individuals to participate in the 2010 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships, the group announced on Monday night. In total, 81 teams and 45 individuals will head to one of six, 54-hole regional championships sites, scheduled for May 20-22.

Big Ten Champion Illinois is the No. 3 seed in the Washington Regional and will be the lone conference team to compete at the Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash. Four Big Ten squads and three individuals were selected to the Notre Dame Regional and will play at the Warren Golf Course in Notre Dame, Ind. Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern and Indiana earned berths in the regional, while Michigan State’s Jack Newman, Minnesota’s Ben Pisani and Purdue’s Erich Johnston will compete as individuals. Penn State will participate in the Yale Regional at the Course at Yale in New Haven, Conn.

In all, the top five teams and the lowest scoring individual not on an advancing team will advance out of the six regionals to the finals. The finals will be contested June 1-6 at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., and will be hosted the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Complete NCAA Release