Six Big Ten Teams Head To NCAA Regional Championships

Purdue's Erich Johnston is one of three Big Ten individuals selected to compete at the NCAA Regional Championships.

May 19, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The NCAA Division I Men's Golf Committee selected six Big Ten teams and three individuals to participate in the 2010 NCAA Men's Golf Championships, which will begin with regional competition this weekend. In total, 81 teams and 45 individuals will head to one of six 54-hole regional sites, scheduled to commence Thursday.

Big Ten Champion Illinois is the No. 3 seed in the Washington Regional and will be the lone conference team to compete at the Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash. Four Big Ten squads and three individuals were selected to the Notre Dame Regional and will play at the Warren Golf Course in Notre Dame, Ind. Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern and Indiana earned berths in the regional, while Michigan State's Jack Newman, Minnesota's Ben Pisani and Purdue's Erich Johnston will compete as individuals. Penn State will participate in the Yale Regional at the Course at Yale in New Haven, Conn.

In all, the top five teams and the lowest scoring individual not on an advancing team will advance out of the six regionals to the finals. The finals will be contested June 1-6 at The Honors Course in Chattanooga, Tenn., and will be hosted the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.

Last year at the 2009 NCAA Regional Championships, five conference squads advanced to the national meet. Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Northwestern and Ohio State each moved on to national competition. Michigan advanced to the Final Four in the NCAAs newly adopted match play format at the NCAA Championships last season.