Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Season Gets Underway This Weekend

Jan. 7, 2005

All six Big Ten men's gymnastics teams will officially begin the 2005 season on Saturday, January 8. Reigning national champion Penn State will open on the road against Army, while No. 2 Illinois, No. 4 Ohio State, No. 7 Michigan, No. 8 Iowa and No. 9 Minnesota will compete in the 35th annual Windy City Invitational in Chicago, Ill. on Saturday.

Last season, Big Ten schools notched impressive performances at the 2004 NCAA Championships with Penn State becoming the first Conference school to win the national title since Ohio State in 2001. The Fighting Illini, the 2004 Big Ten Champion, followed in third place, while the Buckeyes (3rd) and the Wolverines (4th) rounded out the top five. PSU's Luis Vargas, who won the NCAA all-around title, will return this season for the Nittany Lions, while Justin Spring, who took home the high bar title, will look to lead the Illinois contingent.