2010 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships Preview

March 31, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Ohio State University will host the conference’s men’s gymnastics squads for the 2010 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships, which are set to begin Friday, April 2, and will conclude Saturday, April 3. Each night of competition will begin at 7 p.m. ET with the Big Ten Network providing live coverage throughout the championships.

Making conference history last year, Michigan and Illinois were named Big Ten Co-Champions after each finished with a total of 357.100. The win marked Illinois’ Big Ten-leading 24th conference championship, first since 2004, and the 15th in Michigan history, its first since 2000. Ohio State finished third with 349.900 points, Minnesota was fourth with a score of 348.000, Penn State’s score of 340.800 was good for fifth and Iowa rounded out the field with a score of 337.750.

Each conference team appeared in the latest GymInfo National Team Rankings, led by the Illini at No. 3 while the Wolverines rank one place behind at No. 4. Ohio State appears at No. 5, Minnesota is ranked sixth, Penn State checks in at No. 7, and Iowa is ninth.

Four of the six 2009 individual conference champions return with the hopes of defending their championship medals from a year ago. All-around champion Thomas Kelley of Michigan returns with the hopes of leading Michigan to another championship this weekend, while teammate Phillip Goldberg eyes a repeat title on the still rings this weekend. Illinois standouts Paul Ruggeri (floor exercise, parallel bars) and Luke Stannard (pommel horse) look to give the Illini this year’s outright title. Ruggeri is also a two-time defending NCAA Champion on parallel bar and high bar and teammate Daniel Ribeiro is the reigning NCAA Champion on the pommel horse.