2011 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships Preview

March 31, 2011

Complete Release in PDF Format | Championships Central | Live Stats

The 2011 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships are set to take place this weekend as all six conference teams will descend upon the University of Illinois' Huff Hall to compete for the Big Ten title. The event will begin with team competition and all-around finals on Friday, concluding with the individual event finals on Saturday. Both days of competition kick off at 7 p.m. CT and will be broadcast live by the Big Ten Network.

Illinois enters the Big Ten Championships seeking its third-straight title after taking the crown in 2010 and tying with Michigan for first place in 2009. The Fighting Illini have won a conference-best 25 team titles, followed by Minnesota with 21 and Michigan with 15.

Four reigning individual champions look to defend their event titles from last season at this year's championships. Michigan's Chris Cameron took the all-around and floor exercise titles in 2010, while Ohio State's Brandon Wynn earned the still rings crown, Illinois' Dan Ribeiro took the pommel horse title and teammate C.J. Padera won on the parallel bars.

All six Big Ten teams hold top-10 national rankings entering the championships. Illinois leads the way at No. 4, followed by No. 5 Penn State, No. 6 Michigan, No. 7 Minnesota, No. 9 Ohio State and No. 10 Iowa.