2016 Men's Gymnastics Championship Preview

March 31, 2016

Weekly Release

The 2016 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships, hosted by Ohio State University, begin Friday and conclude Saturday at St. John Arena in Columbus, Ohio. Friday’s session will feature the team and all-around competitions, while the individual event finals will be held during Saturday evening’s portion of the championships. BTN will provide live coverage of both sessions, with events on Friday and Saturday beginning at 7 p.m. ET.

Penn State claimed its third Big Ten Championship and first since 2008 last season. Illinois finished second, followed by third-place Michigan, fourth-place Minnesota and fifth-place Ohio State. The Fighting Illini lead all Big Ten schools with 27 team championships, followed by Minnesota with 21.

Three Big Ten competitors will look to defend their event titles at the championships. Illinois’ Fred Hartville looks to repeat as vault champion, Ohio State’s Alex Johnson will attempt to defend his high bar title and Penn State’s Trevor Howard looks to become a back-to-back still rings champion.

All seven Big Ten squads enter the conference championships ranked in the latest Road to Nationals Top 20 poll. Ohio State leads the way at No. 3, followed by No. 4 Minnesota, No. 5 Illinois, No. 7 Nebraska and No. 8 Iowa. Penn State and Michigan are ranked No. 9 and No. 10, respectively.