Ohio State Wins Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championship

April 1, 2016

Columbus, Ohio - The Ohio State men's gymnastics team captured the 2016 Big Ten Championship at St. John Arena in Columbus, Ohio, on Friday. The Buckeyes secured their 13th Big Ten title and first since 2007. 


Ohio State totaled 434.450 team points, followed by second-place Illinois (429.700) and third-place Minnesota (429.100). Penn State finished fourth (427.150), Iowa placed fifth (426.700), Nebraska came in sixth (421.450) and Michigan rounded out the team standings in seventh place with 417.250 points.


The Buckeyes' Sean Melton was the Big Ten all-around champion after tallying a score of 89.750 points, claiming his first Big Ten all-around title and becoming the first Ohio State gymnast to win the event since Randy Monahan in 2004. Ohio State's Alec Yoder placed second in the all-around with 87.550 points, while Minnesota's Tristan Duran finished third with 86.900 points.


The final session of the 2016 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships, featuring the individual event finals, is set for Saturday beginning at 7 p.m. ET. The top 10 individual finishers in each of Friday's events advance to Saturday's finals, which will air live on BTN.