Illinois Wins 2010 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championship

April 2, 2010


Complete Team Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

Championships Central

Trailing heading into its final rotation, the Illinois men's gymnastics team scored a 63.250 on the vault to win its second straight Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championship, and 25th in team history, Friday night during the first session of the 2010 Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships, hosted by Ohio State University. Illinois finished with a team score of 359.700, narrowly edging 2009 co-champion Michigan, which finished second with a score of 358.150. Third place went to Penn State with 347.300 points, the host Buckeyes were fourth with 346.960 points, Minnesota finished fifth with 346.500 points and Iowa was sixth with 337.800 points.

Michigan's Chris Cameron won the all-around championship, keeping the title with the Wolverines after teammate Thomas Kelley finished as the 2009 all-around winner, with a final score of 89.8. Michigan teammate Mel Anton Santander finished second with a score of 88.45, while third place went to Ohio State's Brandon Wynn with an 87.7 final score. Illinois' Paul Ruggeri (86.6) and Minnesota's Aaron Fortunato (86.15) rounded out the all-around top five.

The second session of the Championships, featuring even finals, will take place Saturday, beginning at 7 p.m. ET. The 10 highest individual scorers on each apparatus from Friday night's team competition will advance to the event finals.