Big Ten Crowns Individual Champions On Final Night Of Conference Championships

April 3, 2010

Championships Central

A trio of Illini gymnasts won individual honors on the final night of the 2010 Big Ten Men’s Gymnastics Championships on Saturday night at St. John Arena in Columbus, Ohio. Illinois’ Paul Ruggeri won the vault championship with an effort of 16.35 and the high bar title with a 15.55. Teammate Daniel Ribeiro won the pommel horse crown with a score of 15.625, while C.J. Padera won the parallel bar championship, finishing with a 15.975. Ohio State’s Brandon Wynn claimed top honors on the still rings, scoring a 15.85, and Michigan’s Chris Cameron won the floor exercise title, finishing first with a score of 15.425.

At the conclusion of Saturday night’s finals, the Big Ten announced the 2010 Men’s Gymnastics All-Big Ten teams and individual award winners. Michigan’s Cameron was named the Big Ten Gymnast of the Year, while Big Ten Freshman of the Year honors went to Illinois’ Yoshi Mori and Penn State’s Felix Aronovich. Illinois’ Justin Spring was named Big Ten Coach of the Year after leading the Illini to its second straight Big Ten Championship.

The conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These seven student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the conference office will honor one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

The complete list of All-Big Ten honorees and award winners can be found below:

Gymnast of the Year
Chris Cameron, Michigan



Freshman of the Year
Yoshi Mori, Illinois
Felix Aronovich, Penn State

Coach of the Year
Justin Spring, Illinois

First Team All?]Big Ten
C.J. Padera, Illinois
Daniel Ribeiro, Illinois
Paul Ruggeri, Illinois
Chris Cameron, Michigan
Thomas Kelley, Michigan
Mel Anton Santander, Michigan
Brandon Wynn, Ohio State
Aaron Fortunato, Minnesota

Second Team All?]Big Ten
Brian Liscovitz, Illinois
Ty Echard, Ohio State
Philip Onorato, Ohio State
Nick Virbitsky, Penn State

Sportsmanship Honorees
Brian Liscovitz, Illinois
Jon Buese, Iowa
Ryan McCarthy, Michigan
Adam Reichow, Minnesota
Justin Myers, Ohio State
Noam Shaham, Penn State