Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships Conclude With Individual Event Finals

April 3, 2011

Individual Event Final Results

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. - Individual conference champions were crowned in each of the six events at the Big Ten Men's Gymnastics Championships on Saturday night, concluding this year's event. Big Ten Champion Illinois took home two event titles, while Michigan and Ohio State also reeled in two and Minnesota captured one event crown.

The Illini's Daniel Ribeiro won his second-straight and third overall pommel horse title, posting a 15.900 to lead the field. Teammate Chad Wiest hauled in his first conference crown, taking first place in the floor exercise with a 15.400. Ohio State's Brandon Wynn also picked up his second-straight event title, winning on the still rings with a mark of 16.100. Fellow Buckeye Mike Behles won his first title, tying for first on the vault with Minnesota's Zack Chase with a score of 16.250.

Michigan's Syque Caesar and Ian Makowske rounded out the individual event winners, as Caesar took the parallel bars title with a score of 15.250 and Makowske won the horizontal bar crown after posting a score of 15.500.

The Big Ten individual award winners and All-Big Ten teams were honored after the championships, with Michigan's Sam Mikulak garnering Gymnast and Freshman of the Year honors. Illinois' Justin Spring earned his second consecutive Big Ten Coach of the Year award.

The conference also recognized six Sportsmanship Award honorees. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. These student-athletes must also be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.

Gymnast of the Year
Sam Mikulak, Michigan

Freshman of the Year
Sam Mikulak, Michigan

Coach of the Year
Justin Spring, Illinois

Tyler Mizoguchi, Illinois
Daniel Ribeiro, Illinois
Chad Wiest, Illinois
Syque Caesar, Michigan
Thomas Kelley, Michigan
Ian Makowske, Michigan
Sam Mikulak, Michigan
Rohan Sebastian, Michigan
Zack Chase, Minnesota
D.J. Repp, Minnesota
Mike Behles, Ohio State
Kris Done, Ohio State
Brandon Wynn, Ohio State



Russell Dabritz, Minnesota
Scott Rosenthal, Penn State
Ty Echard, Ohio State
Jeff Treleaven, Ohio State

Sportsmanship Award Honorees
Jordan Valdez, Illinois
Sam Wright, Iowa
Thomas Kelley, Michigan
Mike Paulus, Minnesota
Kris Done, Ohio State
Matt Albrecht, Penn State